Well, it’s all over… until next year

E3 2013 has come to an end.  Thank God, because my feet are killing me.  It was, however, an experience to remember.  The basics were outlined here in my newest Examiner.com article: http://www.examiner.com/list/end-of-the-week-e3-experience-wrap-up

Here’s what I demo’d personally, and what I thought of them.

Castlevania: LoS2 – After waiting for an hour, I played about 7-10 minutes of this game before resetting the demo and leaving the booth.  Nothing new to see here, but I’m sure it’ll be successful after sucking off the teat of the Castlevania name.

Bandfuse – Sweet experience. Awesome in-game tutorials and personalization.  Would definitely buy.

Phineas and Ferb: Quest for Cool Stuff – If you’re a P&F fan, and if you’re not you should be, this is definitely a cool game.  It’s CGI, but they still made it look like the 2D cartoon.  It actually feels as if you’re playing the cartoon itself.  And, you can switch from P&F to Perry, which is ultracool.  Just a basic platformer, but it’s available for a bunch of different consoles.  Another one I would buy.

Zumba – Created after the dance fitness craze, this game was definitely cool to try.  I would hesitate in actual purchase, though, based on the fact that every game I get that’s “dance” or “fitness” gets played for about a week before gathering dust.  It was a pretty neat game, though, with actual instructors and scenes from across the world to guide you in the ways of Zumba.

Dragon’s Prophet – Free to play game from Sony Online Entertainment.  Cross Skyrim, World of Warcraft, and Pokemon, and you get this game.  It was really pretty, graphically, and played very nicely.  If this game were to cost you money, I would hesitate in saying to actually buy it, since there’s so many fantasy MMOs on the market.  But, since it’s free to play, I would definitely check into it if you’re into collecting things, and dragons… specifically collecting dragons.

Black Gold – Now this is a game that kind of came from left field for me.  It’s by Snail Games, the makers of Age of Wushu.  It’s a cross fantasy/steampunk game, where the two factions are fighting over “Black Gold”, a newly discovered resource.  The steampunk side is gritty and dark, while the fantasy side is bright and natural.  The two seem to blend really well, which surprised me.  With this game, also, you really need to have skill.  If you have skill, you can take down someone 10 levels ahead of you, even if they’re “stronger”.  The combat is highly based on line of sight, active dodging, and knowing your character.  Definitely a game to watch for.  (Also, I have some closed beta codes I’m going to be giving away soon, as well as two premium item cards for Age of Wushu.  I’ll keep you posted.)

Ensemble – Browser based MMO.  Their booth was better than the game.  They had all sorts of issues with responsiveness, which can be attributed to the demos that they had set up, but does not bode well for the game.  The graphics were very cartoony, and while this generally doesn’t bother me too much, they weren’t very well done.  It wouldn’t be so bad if the game were fun, but it seemed like a chore to even play.

And then of course there were all the trailers.  Oh my God, the trailers.  Blasting out the theme songs from every which direction.  It was so loud at times that you couldn’t even think.  Here’s a couple I was most impressed by, though:

Battlefield 4 – I have, admittedly, never played any Battlefield game.  However, I would like to follow that up with OH MY GOD I HAVE TO PLAY THIS.  This was by FAR the most impressive trailer of the bunch for me.  And I’m not typically into these types of pvp/fps games.  But it just looked like you were controlling a live action movie.  Even the intricate sounds of footsteps and a breeze passing by a window are thrown in there.  LOVE IT.

Titanfall – Again, not a game I would normally play.  But, I really like the concept of being able to be on your own, wall jumping with a jetpack on, and trying to be stealthy, OR bashing your way through control points in a giant mech.  Very versatile, pretty seamless gameplay, from what I saw, and it looks phenomenal.

Spark – I know a lot of people are comparing this to Little Big Planet, but I really liked the concept of this game, and I can’t wait to try out more.

Plants VS Zombies: Garden Warfare – Just for the lulz.

Need for Speed: Rivals – This looked really cool to me, especially with the additional support from someone on a tablet in a helicopter.  Really cool.

There were so many more games I wanted to try out, but I’m not standing in a line for two hours to play ten minutes of a game.  Especially when I had people to go meet with at certain times.  But, hopefully I’ll get to play some of them in the future, when I’m not surrounded by thousands of other hopeful players.

If you’d like to check out some pictures of the event, head over to my Facebook page. 🙂

About Myssiing

Myssiing is an avid gamer who wants to change the stereotype of gaming. Gamers are no longer just kids or basement dwelling adults. Her goal is to inform others about the goings-on in the gaming industry itself, as well as raise awareness to parents and the uninformed on topics of ratings, stereotypes, and social issues concerning gaming. http://about.me/myssiing

Posted on June 14, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

