I may just have to quit this reviewing thing

Video games are my passion, and have been for a long time. I’ve tried the last four years to break into reviewing and writing up news. Although I love it, it may have to sit on the back burner, or I may have to give it up altogether.  Here’s why:

1. Starting out as a freelancer pays next to nothing.
As I said, I enjoy writing, so this really hasn’t been an issue.  I’d occasionally get swag and a few hundred views on an article, and I was happy. Unfortunately, this isn’t really enough.  I need better viewership, which leads to point two.

2.  Social media as a way of marketing yourself takes a lot of time.
I’m not one to tweet my every meal, or post comments on everything I see.  But it’s hard to find original posts to write when it seems like everyone is way ahead of me.

3.  My networking circle sucks.
I know part of it is that I live in BFE Arizona. I don’t make it to many events and I don’t get to meet with a lot of people in the industry. All of this costs money, and I don’t have that kind of money to spend on my own.  So I don’t get the free games to try out and review. Save for one or two titles, I’ve bought everything on my own, which is starting to add up.

4.  The market is saturated.
Everywhere you look there are people reviewing games. You need to find a niche to make yourself original and stand out if you want to make it. I haven’t found mine, and I’m starting to think I don’t really have one.

5. Games and consoles are expensive.
As if I wasn’t already behind, the next gen of consoles are out already. I’m equipped with an Xbox 360, a broken Wii, and a PC. This does not make for a good reviewer. And I don’t foresee myself buying any of the next gen stuff for at least a couple of years.

I’m not generally a quitter, but I’m starting to lose faith here. Anyway, thanks for reading.

About Myssiing

Myssiing is an avid gamer who wants to change the stereotype of gaming. Gamers are no longer just kids or basement dwelling adults. Her goal is to inform others about the goings-on in the gaming industry itself, as well as raise awareness to parents and the uninformed on topics of ratings, stereotypes, and social issues concerning gaming. http://about.me/myssiing

Posted on December 9, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It’s not often that people actually admit how hard they’re finding something and it’s refreshing to read an honest point of view.

    If you try and give up something you love, you’ll find yourself coming back to it sooner or later. Keep your chin up and who knows what’s just around the corner. 🙂

Leave a Reply

