Review: ‘Battle Odyssey’ (Win Phone)

(NOTE: In order to get some feelings about this game off of my chest, I have decided to write this review in the form of a letter.)

Dear Gameloft,

I am very happy and excited that you have chosen to distribute some of your games onto the Windows Phone. As you may know, our choices are slightly more limited than that of Android or iOS users, and for that, I am appreciative.

So, I downloaded one of your games called ‘Battle Odyssey’, which is a fantastic little puzzle RPG. The graphics are great, the music is awesome, and the gameplay is simple to play with, yet challenging to master. Even the storyline is fun, which is really hard to do for a puzzle game.

There’s just one little issue. Just something minor that happens. The game shuts off.

Let me just say this: There is nothing more frustrating that trying to enter an event, such as the dailies or pvp, and have the game crash on you.

Wait… yes there is. When you load up the game again and it’s taken the energy cost without letting you try the event you were trying to play in the first place. Yup. That’s definitely more frustrating. Because then you have to wait for all that energy to pump back into your stat bar. If it’s PVP, you go down in ranking without even having seen the opponent. And people are getting frustrated with it.

At first I thought it was just my phone. Something wonky with the data that it wasn’t reading right. Boy was I wrong. As soon as I took a look at the in-game chat, I saw other people complaining about the same thing. Loads of ’em.

Now, Gameloft, here’s the thing. I really like your game. It’s not pushing you to buy things every 5 minutes. It’s not too easy that it’s boring, but not too difficult that you give up. It’s colorful and fun. But it doesn’t matter how good the game is if it doesn’t work.

Now, I understand if it has a bug or whatnot it needs to get fixed. I get that, really I do. But you need to actually FIX IT, which has not been done up to this point.

So, in fairness, I cannot give your game the decent score it should have. I would love to give this game a 80-90% rating, but it would have to be more playable.

So, I’ll give this little game a 75%. Fix that bug, and I’m sure I would rate it higher. Your players would be happier, that’s for sure.

FIX
IT

~Myssiing

About Myssiing

Myssiing is an avid gamer who wants to change the stereotype of gaming. Gamers are no longer just kids or basement dwelling adults. Her goal is to inform others about the goings-on in the gaming industry itself, as well as raise awareness to parents and the uninformed on topics of ratings, stereotypes, and social issues concerning gaming. http://about.me/myssiing

Posted on May 4, 2015, in Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

