Nailing things down

DSCN0211

Since the age of 6 or 7, I always knew I wanted to be included in the video games industry. I’ve been saying for quite some time now that I’m not sure what to do, though. I don’t program, my art at this point is pretty sub-par (and I don’t know any of the new programs now, anyway), I’m not a teen or young 20-something single chick that can model, I have a face for radio and a voice for silent film, and I’m not plugged in to all the new games and consoles. I tried video games journalism, but I don’t want to just report news. I want to be part of the news. Not a lot going on for me in a lot of areas.

However, I think I’ve finally found a niche that I CAN make a difference in. I want to bring awareness of the gaming community as something more than just a stereotype. I’m highly aware that there are already people doing this. Hell, PSP is one of the best at it (you can find him at www.patrickscottpatterson.com). But there can always be one more voice.

I think that my experiences as not only a female gamer, but also as a parent, brings some added ‘oomph’ to the table. I’m not really pushing for any one agenda or anything, but there are still a lot of non-gamers out there (specifically parents) that have no idea what the ESRB is, or that not all games are for kids. There are people that push the “video games are for boys” stereotype, or that adults who play live in their parent’s basement. There are people who see a “gamer” as a whole other entity rather than just somebody’s hobby.

So, I’ve rebranded my Facebook page to reflect that. I’ll still be sharing news, game releases, reviews, etc., but I’ll also be seeking out psychological issues, studies, demographic information, legal and political issues, and other topics that usually get no mention or washed over. If Facebook isn’t your thing, I’ll still have the same Twitter going, as well. If you’re looking for a gaming website, check out Player.me.

I hope this takes off. But, more so, I hope you like it. And I hope you invite your friends to like it, too.

About Myssiing

Myssiing is an avid gamer who wants to change the stereotype of gaming. Gamers are no longer just kids or basement dwelling adults. Her goal is to inform others about the goings-on in the gaming industry itself, as well as raise awareness to parents and the uninformed on topics of ratings, stereotypes, and social issues concerning gaming. http://about.me/myssiing

Posted on May 22, 2015, in All about Myssiing ^.^, Hey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

